Anglaagan Turned One

I posted my first entry here exactly one year ago – March 6, 2010. It’s Ang Laagan’s first birthday!

This “venture” of mine started just with the intention of having somewhere to post the pictures that I take. Just like almost everyone else, I got hooked into Photography, and back in 2009 I finally got myself my first serious system camera. At first, all of my output just went into two places – Facebook and the hard drive. However, I had a persistent urge to have a more “meaningful” use of my pictures, if only to justify the amount I have spent on my new gear. I tried sharing my pictures on Flickr, but somehow it felt flat, as if my photos weren’t capable of explaining themselves.

The other thing that has me hooked is Travel. I think I was born to roam around, and I’m one of those people who feel at home on the road, the type who would welcome 14 hour drives and 12 hour flights with open arms. To me the journey is the attraction, and having a beautiful place at the other end of a journey is just an added bonus…sort of like the icing on a cake.

The idea to start “Ang Laagan” hit me while my family and I were billeted at The Boutique Hotel in Tagaytay. I had the laptop with me, a wi-fi connection, a bunch of pictures, and enough time on my hands. The question just dawned on me -“Why don’t I take my travel experiences, my pictures, and blend them together with what is perhaps my most developed skill – writing?”. We checked in at The Boutique on March 5, and Ang Laagan’s first issue came out on March 6.

Though I liked to travel that much, I still do have a day job, and travelling is costly, so I really can’t do it as much as I would have wished to. That also meant that I had to take pictures and write about something in between trips, and that’s how the idea of writing about restaurants came about. “Gastronomy”, after all, is “travel’s” close cousin, in my opinion.

Throughout Ang Laagan’s first year, I posted entries on an almost weekly basis, and I enjoyed it. It’s one of those times I honestly had to ask myself “Why didn’t I think of this before?”. I was able to go to a good number of places within the country, and was blessed enough to have two international trips – to Bangkok and Hong Kong.

At first I only wanted to document my travel experiences from March 5, 2010 onwards, but I remembered that I also have pictures from my previous trips just lying around in the hard drive. I wanted to share those too, so I added journals about my previous, most memorable trips – China in 2007, and the USA and Switzerland in 2008. I would have wanted to add even more of my older experiences, but unfortunately, I only entered the digital age of photography in 2007. Everything before that was just stored in film, and since film was such an expensive medium, there were just a few.

This year is the year of the rabbit, and I hope it’s a good year for people who like to go hopping around into different places. I think my family and I have some pretty good plans for the year, and I’m sure there will be more exciting things to come across as the year unravels. If you’ve been following Ang Laagan, then thank you for your patronage. If not yet, then hop aboard!  🙂

Posted below are photos from my most memorable trips, on Ang Laagan’s first year.

The Baywalk at my hometown, Davao City

Roast Beef at Bag of Beans, Tagaytay City, Cavite

Midnight Snack at The Boutique, Tagaytay City, Cavite

Halo-halo at Crisostomo in Solenad Nuvali, Santa Rosa, Laguna

The Salcedo Weekend Market, Salcedo Village, Makati City

Seared Tuna Tataki at Kuse in The Venice Piazza, McKinley Hill, Taguig

Pig Out at Solenad Nuvali, Santa Rosa, Laguna

Punta Riviera Resort in Bolinao, Pangasinan

Ribs at Myron’s, Greenbelt 5, Makati

Prawns at Mamu, Bacaca, Davao City

Grilled Beef at Laya Personal Dining, Antipolo City, Rizal

The Thunderbird Resort at Binangonan, Rizal

Flag Ceremony at Intramuros, Manila, courtesy of Mr. Carlos Celdran.

Mango Cheescake at La Cocina De Tita Moning, San Miguel, Manila

The Skybar at Crown Regency, Cebu City

Fort San Pedro, Cebu City, Philippines

Seafood Kare-kare at Laguna Garden Cafe, Cebu City

Seafood Rissotto at La Tegola, Cebu City

Bangkok, Thailand

Subic Bay, Zambales

Makar Fish Port, General Santos City

View from The Peak, Hong Kong SAR, People’s Republic of China

Lion King at Hong Kong Disneyland

Sonya’s Garden, Tagaytay City, Cavite

Municipality of Tandag, Surigao Del Sur

Cagwait White Beach, Municipality of Cagwait, Surigao del Sur

Alor’s, Torres St., Davao City

The view from Vieux Chalet, Antipolo City, Rizal

Casa Santa, Antipolo City, Rizal

Chemas By The Sea, Island Garden City of Samal

Merkato Centrale, Bonifacio Global City, Taguig

Newport Mall, Pasay City

Old Penang, Newport Mall, Pasay City

Thai Food Station, Merville, Paranaque City

Leave a Reply

