Anglaagan Turned Two

Anglaagan just turned two last March 6, 2012, after another full year of good food and great destinations. The year opened and closed on a high, starting with a trip to Singapore and Kuala Lumpur, and ending with a least expected but most enjoyed journey to London. We also spent a few days in Seoul half-way through the year, exploring what is perhaps the most “photogenic” city I have been to in Asia. Locally, we also had the chance to visit other parts of the Philippines, including a weekend in Ilo-ilo and Guimaras, as well as several trips to my hometown in Davao.

Writing about my journeys and taking people with me through the words that I type and pictures that I take has given me immense satisfaction over the last couple of years. From being a simple venue to share my own photos and stories, it has become an advocacy of sorts, to show people the world as I’ve seen it in my own eyes, and to let my experiences rest not just in my memory but in my readers as well.

What do I get out of all this, and why do I do it? I have been asked a few times. For the first question, I get pride, self respect, and that’s pretty much it. For the second, I really don’t have a good answer either. I just do it because it feels like it’s the right thing for me to do. Steve Jobs once said, on a speech in Stanford, that you cannot connect dots looking forward, you can only do so looking backward. And with that I hope that some time in the future, I will look back at all this and realize why I was doing it, why I was given the privilege to see places, and the gift to put what I saw and felt into writing. Someday when I look back, I hope to see what this was all about.

Here are the photos of my journeys and experiences in Anglaagan’s second year. I hope you’ve enjoyed travelling with me, and I look forward to taking you to more places in Anglaagan’s third.

Universal Studios, Singapore

The Marina Bay Sands, Singapore

The evening skyline of Singapore

The Rasa Shangri-la Sentosa, Singapore

Spaghetti with Meatballs at Secret Recipe, Singapore

The Petronas Towers, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

The Pavillion at Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

The KLCC Park, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Menara Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Fernbrook Gardens, Muntinlupa, Philippines

St. Jerome Parish, Muntinlupa, Philippines

Aresi at Subic, Philippines

Ocean Adventure, Subic, Philippines

Ramen Bar at Eastwood, Quezon City, Philippines

Solenad Nuvali at Santa Rosa, Laguna

Avilon Zoo at Rizal, Philippines

Las Casas Filipinas at Bagac, Bataan, Philippines

Hotel H2O at Manila, Philippines

Manila Ocean Park, Philippines

Blueberry Pancakes at Bag of Beans, Tagaytay, Philippines

Dinner at Marcia Adams, Tagaytay, Philippines

Grilled Orange with Vanilla Ice Cream at Marcia Adams, Tagaytay, Philippines

Ayala Triangle Park at Makati, Philippines

Grilled King Prawns with Rice Pilaf at Restaurant 101, Taguig, Philippines

Jaro Cathedral, Ilo-ilo, Philippines

Miag-ao church, Province of Ilo-ilo, Philippines

Reymen Beach, Guimaras, Philippines

Manila Ocean Park, Philippines

Desserts at the Mandarin Oriental, Makati, Philippines

Gyeongbokgung, Seoul, Korea

Cheonggyecheon, Seoul, Korea

Lotte World, Seoul, Korea

Myeongdong, Seoul, Korea

The Teddy Bear Museum at Seoul, Korea

Bukchon Hanok at Seoul, Korea

Itaewon, Seoul, Korea

Kimchi in Seoul, Korea

The Mandarin Oriental at Makati City, Philippines

Eggs Benedict at the Mandarin Oriental, Makati, Philippines

The Makati CBD, Philippines

Tuna Salad at Myron’s, Makati, Philippines

Xiao Long Bao at Crystal Jade, San Juan, Philippines

Handuraw Pizza at Paranaque City, Philippines

Bonifacio Global City at Taguig, Philippines

Greenbelt Mall at Makati, Philippines

Eastwood City, Quezon City, Philippines

Rockwell Center, Makati, Philippines

The Christmas light display at Ayala Triangle, Makati City, Philippines

The Oakwood Premier at Ortigas Center, Pasig, Philippines

The Ortigas CBD at Pasig, Philippines

Fresh Tuna Kinilaw at Banana Beach, Tagum City, Philippines

Banana Beach at Tagum City, Davao Province, Philippines

Christmas light display at Mana Davao, Davao City, Philippines

The Peak at Davao City, Philippines

Abreeza at Davao City, Philippines

Pomodoro at Gervacios Bakery, Davao City, Philippines

Kaputian White Beach, Samal Island, Philippines

Tower Bridge, London, United Kingdom

Palace of Westminster and Tower Clock, London, United Kingdom

River Thames and the London Eye, United Kingdom

Buckingham Palace, London, United Kingdom

Parliament Square, London, United Kingdom

Leave a Reply

