Anglaagan, Is Turning Six

Yours Truly, the author

Yesterday, all my troubles seemed so far away. Now it looks as though they’re here to stay. Oh I believe, in yesterday.

Six years ago, in the first week of March, I started writing articles here. I named my site Ang Laagan (Visayan for “The Wanderlust”), to denote my penchant for travel, and my roots in Davao City, Philippines, where Visayan is the most widely spoken Filipino dialect. Six years, but it only feels like yesterday.

I started Ang Laagan because I wanted to show my experiences, to whoever bothers to read. I believe each of us has something to share, about our experiences, the happenings in our lives, and how they shape who we are. I simply chose Ang Laagan as my medium.

Despite being a site about personal travel experiences, I made it a point not to post pictures of myself here. Why? Because this site isn’t about me. Rather, it’s about the things that I see, feel, and taste as I go around doing what I like doing best. But I’m going to make an exception this time, as I post a photo of me crossing the most ordinary yet most famous crosswalk ever (expertly taken by a gracious colleague and friend). Forty years before I started Ang Laagan, a photographer took a few pictures of the Beatles along this crosswalk a few steps from their studio. One of those was made an album cover, and the rest is history.

It has been terribly busy for me lately, as each year gets busier and busier at work. I have been able to write less, I must admit, but that still has not drowned out my passion to escape and go to other worlds, whenever I can. Life will always be hectic, busy, impatient, but we shouldn’t let the world drown out what we are. Let’s just take life for what it is, the good, the bad, and make it better. Cheers!

Hey Jude, don’t make it bad. Take a sad song, and make it better“.

  
  
*Photos taken February 2016

Leave a Reply

